The Most Effective Minute of Therapy I Ever Received

circa 1997

I was sitting in my psychiatrist’s office in the aftermath of losing my job, head in hands, and moaning,

“What am I going to do?  WHAT am I going to do?  I’ve been humiliated.  I’m a laughingstock.  Everyone will know I messed up.  All my work… down the drain.  What are people going to think of me?  I’m so embarrassed… I’m so ashamed.”

Bill sat quietly for a moment, and then replied,

“Wes, I’m not sure how to tell you this, but not all that many people around here even know who you are.”

Ice water, right in the face. I smiled,

“That was good.”

About Wes Eades

I've been a pastoral counselor, marital therapist, and overall listening ear since about 1989 or so.
This entry was posted in Anxiety. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Most Effective Minute of Therapy I Ever Received

  1. Chris Millette says:

    Now thats my kind of therapy!

  2. Jackie Lott says:

    Humility is one of our most valuable assets, both spiritually and otherwise. Neat story.

  3. Mark Long says:

    Ok, Wes. Don’t know that this is therapy exactly, but it took under a minute, and it parallels your own.

    Mark, lying on the bedroom floor, complaining. “My life is a waste! I’m 26 and I’ve done nothing. NOTHING. When John Calvin was 26, he had written the first edition of one of the greatest theological treatises ever, The Institutes. When John Keats was 26, he died of a lung disease—but not before he had written some of the most moving poetry ever. I’m 26. I’ve done nothing.”

    Judy, working in the bedroom, distractedly. “But Mark, they were geniuses.”

    Cheers,

    Mark
    Now 60 and still no genius

  4. Susan says:

    Great stories! Thanks for sharing the laughs…who needs genius or popularity. Laughter is far better than either of those 😀

Leave a Reply

