So why the heck don’t we meditate?

[We] are looking at potentially revolutionary insights to help address human mental and emotional anguish. As a person’s identity shifts through the practice of meditation, time and again practitioners report dramatic reductions in personal suffering. Pain does not go away, of course. Pain really is part of the human condition. But one’s relationship to suffering can change   Jeff Warren (from the second link, below)

My good cyber-friend, Mark Brady (The Flowering Brain blog) recently sent me a link, that led me to another link:

Enlightenment: Is Science Ready to Take it Seriously?

How Understanding the Process of Enlightenment Could Change Science.

Why don’t I take meditation more seriously? There’s a good chance that I take it more seriously than you do. I meditate… some. I do mindfulness reviews… some.  I actually do read about meditation, and spiritual practice, a lot. I’m so much more like one of the duck’s in the Kierkegaard parable than I care to admit (see below).

But when I’m reminded by articles like these of just how much evidence there is for the role of meditation in alleviating suffering (not pain, but suffering), I’m left looking at my 57 year old self and thinking, “Why don’t I do that more?”

I certainly feel like I should. But I also know that if I watch some YouTube videos that feeling will go away…

Kierkegaard on the Duck Church

There was a little town of Ducks. Every Sunday the ducks waddle out of their houses and waddle down Main Street to their church. They waddle into the sanctuary and squat in their proper pews. The duck choir waddles in and takes it place, then the duck minister comes forward and opens the duck Bible (Ducks, like all other creatures on earth, seem to have their own special version of the Scriptures.) He reads to them: “Ducks! God has given you wings! With wings you can fly! With wings you can mount up and soar like eagles. No walls can confine you! No fences can hold you! You have wings. God has given you wings and you can fly like birds!” All the ducks shouted “Amen!” And they all waddled home.

About Wes Eades

I've been a pastoral counselor, marital therapist, and overall listening ear since about 1989 or so.
This entry was posted in Anxiety, Depression, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.